Empire Of The Sun

Top Songs & Albums Empire Of The Sun


... read moreAustralian duo Empire of the Sun is made up of Luke Steele, from ‘60s-influenced rockers the Sleepy Jackson, and Nick Littlemore of dance-music group Pnau. Together they make giddy pop-rock with a quirky indie twist and a heavy synth-pop influence. Judging by their album cover and promo photos (not...

Key songs

Empire Of The Sun
Walking On A Dream
Empire Of The Sun
We Are The People
Empire Of The Sun
Standing On The Shore
Empire Of The Sun
Half Mast
Empire Of The Sun


Active: 2000s-2010s
Country Of origin: Australia

Best known for their hit single "Walking on a Dream," Australia's larger-than-life electro-glam-pop duo Empire of the Sun feature the Sleepy Jackson's Luke Steele and Pnau's Nick Littlemore. Steele had previously worked with Pnau on "With You Forever," a track from the band's 2007 self-titled third album, and the pair enjoyed collaborating so much that they started their own project, drawing inspiration from the likes of Phoenix and Daft Punk. In fall 2008, Empire of the Sun released their debut album, Walking on a Dream, which the musicians described as "a spiritual road movie." Featuring songs co-written by Pnau's other half, Peter Mayes, the album went platinum in Australia and the title track became a hit single across the globe (even topping the Billboard Dance Club Songs chart nearly a decade after release when it was used in an American car advertisement).

After time spent touring -- and a period when Littlemore took a short hiatus from the group to write music for Cirque du Soleil -- the duo regrouped in the studio to work on their second album. The disco-pop Ice on the Dune was released in early summer of 2013, after which the band toured the world. In late 2014, two new songs, "Tonight" and "Wandering Star," appeared on the soundtrack to the movie Dumb and Dumber To. They spent a large chunk of the next year writing and recording their third album in Los Angeles and Hawaii, welcoming guests like Lindsey Buckingham, members of David Bowie's band from the Blackstar sessions, and Wendy Melvoin from Prince & the Revolution. Two Vines was issued in October 2016, climbing into the Australian Top Ten and peaking just outside the Billboard Top 50. A year later, they released the On Our Way Home EP, which featured the title track plus additional B-sides and remixes.

In 2019, the duo marked the tenth anniversary of their breakthrough debut with a special edition reissue that was packaged with a new song, "Chrysalis." ~ Heather Phares~ Rovi

Similar artists

Hot Chip
Tahiti 80
Neon Indian
Midnight Juggernauts

Appears in

43 tracks • 0 followers
320 tracks • 1 followers
293 tracks • 0 followers
261 tracks • 0 followers
175 tracks • 0 followers