Delta Spirit

Top Songs & Albums Delta Spirit


... read moreInitially part of the emo-tinged major-label outfit Noise Ratchet, Jon Jameson and Brandon Young departed and joined forces with Matthew Vasquez, Sean Walker, and Kelly Winrich to form the more classic rock-inspired five-piece Delta Spirit. Finding kindred spirits in bands similarly influenced by...

Key songs

Delta Spirit
People C'mon
Delta Spirit
Delta Spirit
Delta Spirit
Tomorrow Goes Away
Delta Spirit
Strange Vine


Active: 2000s-2010s
Country Of origin: United States of America
Group Members: Matthew Logan Vasquez

Pitching its style between indie rock and alt-country, Delta Spirit features bassist Jon Jameson, drummer Brandon Young, vocalist Matthew Vasquez, multi-instrumentalist/vocalist Kelly Winrich, and guitarist Will McLaren. The band began when Jameson and Young's former band, the San Diego-based emo outfit Noise Ratchet, called it quits in 2004. Seeking a rootsy sound, the pair joined forces with Vasquez, Winrich, and founding guitarist Sean Walker. In 2006, the band issued their debut EP, I Think I've Found It, and hit the road alongside Cold War Kids and Dr. Dog. The following year, they self-released their first full-length Ode to Sunshine; after Delta Spirit signed to Rounder Records, the label reissued a remastered version of the album in 2008.

Earning acclaim for their recordings as well as their live show, the band began recording songs for its second album at Prairie Sun Studios in 2009. The finished product, History from Below, was released in June 2010. Just before Delta Spirit's self-titled third album arrived in 2012, Walker left and McLaren joined C.O.C.; soon after, they moved from Long Beach, California to Brooklyn, New York. In 2013, the group contributed an exclusive new song, "Running," to the soundtrack of the AMC show The Walking Dead.

Delta Spirit returned in 2014 with Into the Wide, a darker, heavier set of songs written and recorded in the practice space they'd rebuilt near an Atlanta shipping yard after Hurricane Sandy's devastation. It was recorded with producer Ben Allen (who has also worked with Animal Collective and Deerhunter). It became their most successful album yet, both commercially and critically, and Vasquez also began recording solo singles and EPs, culminating in the 2016 album Solicitor Returns. ~ Andrew Leahey~ Rovi

Similar artists

Cold War Kids
These United States
We Barbarians
Hoots & Hellmouth

Appears in

Take It Easy
76 tracks • 149569 followers
412 tracks • 0 followers
282 tracks • 0 followers
284 tracks • 0 followers
205 tracks • 0 followers