Amon Amarth

Top Songs & Albums Amon Amarth


... read moreSwedish death metal band Amon Amarth formed in 1988 under the name Scum and adopted their permanent moniker four years later. In 1993, the quintet recorded their first demo, Thor Arise, which went unreleased due to sound problems; a second demo, Arrival of the Fimbul Winter, followed in 1994...

Key songs

Amon Amarth
Twilight Of The Thunder God
Amon Amarth
Guardians Of Asgaard
Amon Amarth
Death In Fire
Amon Amarth
Runes To My Memory
Amon Amarth
The Pursuit Of Vikings


Active: 1990s-2010s
Country Of origin: Sweden
Group Members: Martin Lopez

One of the most respected and consistent forces in the melodic death metal scene, Sweden's Amon Amarth emerged in the early 1990s with a sound that infused traditional scorched-earth Scandinavian death metal with Viking history and lore. They broke into the mainstream in 2008 with the release of their landmark seventh LP Twilight of the Thunder God, which charted both at home and abroad, paving the way for subsequent triumphs like Deceiver of the Gods (2013) and Berserker (2019).

The seeds for the group were sewn in 1988 under the moniker Scum, which featured vocalist Paul Mäkitalo (Dark Funeral), lead guitarist Olavi Mikkonen, bass player Petri Tarvainen, and rhythm guitarist Vesa Meriläinen. Four years later a re-tooled lineup consisting of vocalist Johan Hegg, guitarists Mikkonen and Anders Hansson, bassist Ted Lundstrom, and drummer Niko Kaukinen began operating as Amon Amarth, taking their name from the Sindarin translation of Mount Doom, the cursed volcano in J.R.R. Tolkien's fantasy epic The Lord of the Rings. In 1993, the quintet recorded their first demo Thor Arise, which went unreleased due to sound problems; a second demo, Arrival of the Fimbul Winter, followed in 1994, quickly selling out all 1,000 copies. Signing to the Singapore-based Pulverised label, Amon Amarth issued the EP Sorrow Throughout the Nine Worlds in mid-1996; soon after, Kaukinen exited and was replaced by drummer Martin Lopez for 1998's full-length Once Sent from the Golden Hall. The LP, released via Metal Blade, helped establish the band as a force to be reckoned with in the death metal community. Hansson left shortly after the album's release, making way for new guitarist Johan Söderberg and drummer Fredrik Andersson, who made their studio debuts on 1999's Avenger -- this would prove to be the strongest and most prolific iteration of the group, lasting well into the 2010s.

The punishing and aptly named Crusher arrived in 2001, followed in 2002 by the dark and melancholic Versus the World, the latter of which introduced a more measured, bottom-heavy style. 2004's Fate of Norns continued in that vein, and was followed in 2006 by With Oden on Our Side, which was the band's first album to enter the Billboard charts. 2008's Twilight of the Thunder God became Amon Amarth's most critically acclaimed and commercially successful outing to date, landing in the Top Ten of numerous year-end lists. In 2011, the group released their eighth studio album, Surtur Rising, followed by a world tour alongside metal luminaries Children of Bodom and Ensiferum, among others. Deceiver of the Gods, which featured a guest appearance by former Candlemass vocalist Messiah Marcolin, arrived in 2013. Two years later saw the departure of longtime drummer Fredrik Andersson. The band recruited session kit man Tobias Gustafsson for 2016's Jomsviking, and tapped Jocke Wallgren as the official replacement shortly thereafter. Wallgren made his studio debut on Amon Amarth's 11th long-player, 2019's Berserker. ~ James Christopher Monger~ Rovi

Similar artists

Arch Enemy
At The Gates
Dark Tranquillity
In Flames

Appears in

Ciężkie klimaty
51 tracks • 31213 followers
Metal Monday
55 tracks • 91495 followers
last queue
411 tracks • 0 followers
Metal Tracks - Additions
327 tracks • 0 followers
Download Festival Line Up 2016
142 tracks • 0 followers