The Lone Bellow

Top Songs & Albums The Lone Bellow


... read morePlaying what they call "Brooklyn country music," the Lone Bellow (Zach Williams, Kanene Donehey Pipkin, and Brian Elmquist) are a group of transplanted southerners who deliver a passionate, soulful, acoustic-based alternative rock Americana. The band began after Williams' wife was involved in a...

Key songs

The Lone Bellow
Green Eyes And A Heart Of Gold
The Lone Bellow
Fake Roses
The Lone Bellow
You Never Need Nobody
The Lone Bellow
Then Came The Morning
The Lone Bellow
Tree To Grow


Active: 2010s
Country Of origin: United States of America
Group Members: Zach Williams

The Lone Bellow (lead singer/guitarist Zach Williams, singer/mandolinist/keyboardist Kanene Donehey Pipkin, singer/guitarist Brian Elmquist) are a group of transplanted Southerners based in Brooklyn who deliver a passionate, soulful, acoustic-based brand of Americana. The band started after Williams' wife was involved in a serious accident that left her temporarily paralyzed from the neck down. While hoping and waiting for her recovery (she did recover), Williams began writing a set of haunting songs that dealt with tragedy, hope, and redemption. Following her recovery, the couple moved to Brooklyn.

In 2010, Williams, who had been working as a solo act, began jamming with Elmquist, an old friend, and when Pipkin joined in, the trio knew they had a band. Building on Williams' songs, and working and writing together along with bassist Jason Pipkin and drummer Justin Glasco, they built up an impressive early catalog. A deal with Sony imprint Descendant Records yielded the group's critically acclaimed eponymous debut, which rose to number 64 on the Billboard Top 200 in early in 2013. After a year of hard touring, the bandmembers announced they'd be working with fellow Brooklynite Aaron Dessner (the National) on their follow-up album, Then Came the Morning, which arrived in January 2015 and earned them an American Music Award nomination for Best Group/Duo. Following a relocation to Nashville in 2016, the Lone Bellow returned with their third full-length, Walk into a Storm, featuring the single "Time's Always Leaving." The Restless EP arrived in 2018, and included the single "Water Under the Bridge." ~ Steve Leggett~ Rovi

Similar artists

The Lumineers
The Civil Wars
Mumford & Sons
Von Grey
Max Gomez

Appears in

Feeling Folkie
48 tracks • 0 followers